PM Barn Assistant

Year Started at GMTRC :  2017

Other Therapeutic riding experience:  17 years (and continuing) as a volunteer at CATRA, in Dauphin County. Adult Volunteer-of-the Year, 2006.

Other employment information: I’ve retired(!) from:  architectural design, homeschool Mom; and para-educator.

Where did you grow up (city/state): Mendham NJ, Bethesda MD, and rural Hunterdon County NJ

Education: BS. in Architecture, Penn State University

Name of horse(s) you currently own or favorite Greystone Horse: Nando, for his personality (work ethic and sense of humor)

Explain in detail what you like best about working at Greystone: That everyone is deeply committed to making it a program of the highest quality

A few interesting facts about yourself: My family considered me “horse-crazy” by the age of five, but I didn’t start riding ‘til age twelve.  Several years later, my parents bought a “part-time” farm.  I owned a Tennessee Walker and a Morgan/Canadian chunk, and had the privilege of helping raise their hay and grain!  I switched to saddle-seat, and did LOTS of trail-riding.  Ever since, I’ve loved riding the natural-gaited breeds:  Tennessee Walkers, Paso Finos, Icelandic horses, a Rocky Mountain Horse…

I met my husband Doug at Penn State, and we stayed in State College for 25 years.  When our family moved to Palmyra, PA, our middle child, James, who has high-functioning autism, went with a job trainer to work at CATRA, and l got heartily involved with that program.  Over the years, our daughter Sylvie volunteered, and James both volunteered and rode.

Now,Doug and I have moved to Lititz, and we joyfully seek God’s input on this next stage of life.

Family: Our older son and daughter-in-law near Pittsburgh; our middle son lives in Hershey, and our daughter and son-in-law live in suburban DC (with first grand-baby, Calvin!).