Linda

LindaInstructor

Instructor certification and date earned: PATH/ Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship, Intl. -Registered Instructor 1/1/2013

Total number of years instructing therapeutic riding: 3

Year Started at GMTRC:  I began volunteering for horse-prep, side-walking, and as a horse leader in 2010, when Karen Weber-Zug was our volunteer coordinator!

Other employment information:  My work history is in marketing and communications in the travel and (ancient) technology industries, as well as with other non-profit organizations.   I am currently an emergency substitute teacher and tutoring aide for Hempfield School District. Most of this work is in the middle school resource, emotional support, gifted, and physical education classrooms.

Education: BA, Miami of Ohio University, Oxford, OH

Where did you grow up?  My childhood home is Indianapolis, IN

Name of horse you currently ride and own:  Jewel, my dapple grey AQHA mare, was a 50th birthday present to myself.  I rode and trained her with Claudia Patrick at Killdeer Farm in Mt. Joy for five years. I no longer have Jewel, so I currently ride Nosy, an athletic Arab/QH, in weekly dressage lessons at Crescendo Training Centre.  At GMTRC, Bailey and Lucy are my regular schooling buddies.  Riding different horses on a regular basis has made me a better rider!

What do you like best about teaching therapeutic riding at GMTRC:  Our students, of course!  But also how staff knowledge and careful preparation lead to the celebration of deepening relationships, skill development, increasing independence, and goals achieved. Therapeutic riding requires teamwork. Riders, parents, caregivers, horses, volunteers, staff, our Board of Directors, our financial supporters, The Worship Center, and professional organizations all help us to maintain the highest standards for our program. The dedication of everyone involved with GMTRC amazes me.

A few interesting facts about yourself:  I have lived in IN (3x), OH, CT, TN, IL, and PA, and traveled the world for work.  These experiences taught me to trust God, work hard, and to be open to new people, experiences and opportunities. When not at a horse barn, I can be found hiking, biking or running the local trails with friends, family, or our golden retriever, Megan. I also enjoy tennis, kayaking, and competing with family or friends in anything, for the fun of it!

Family:  My husband Mark and I have three terrific adult children, who all are recent PSU grads. Our extended family lives in CO, TX, GA, IN, MS, VA, and PA, so we have lots of fun places to visit!


Date
Archive
Permalink

Published:August 22, 2016

Browse the Team Member archive.

Group: .

Bookmark the permalink


Scroll Up